This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Clinical classification of different types of myocardial infarction

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

Type 1: spontaneous myocardial infarction related to ischaemia due to a primary coronary event such as plaque erosion and/or rupture fissuring, or dissection

Type 2: myocardial infarction secondary to ischaemia due to either decreased supply or increased demand e.g. coronary artery spasm, coronary embolism, anaemia, arrhythmias, hypertension or hypotension

Type 3: sudden unexpected cardiac death, including cardiac arrest, often with symptoms suggestive of ischaemia, accompanied by presumably new ST elevation, or new LBBB, or evidence of fresh thrombus in a coronary artery by angiography and/or at autopsy, but death occuring before blood samples could be obtained, or at a time before the appearance of cardiac markers in the blood

Type 4a: myocardial infarction associated with PCI

Type 4b: myocardial infarction associated with stent thrombosis either at angiography or at autopsy

Type 5: myocardial infarction associated with CABG


Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Annotations allow you to add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation. E.g. a website or number. This information will always show when you visit this page.