This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Go to /pro/cpd-dashboard page

This page is worth 0.05 CPD credits. CPD dashboard

Go to /account/subscription-details page

This page is worth 0.05 CPD credits. Upgrade to Pro

Cytological differentiation

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

The differentiation of erythrocytes takes place over about 6 days within the extravascular cords of red bone marrow.

The stages involved include sequentially:

  • primitive haemopoietic stem cell
  • uncommited stem cell
  • proerythroblast:
    • relatively large cell and nucleus
    • mildly basophilic staining
  • basophilic erythroblast: intensely basophilic staining due to large numbers of ribosomes producing haemoglobin
  • polychromatophilic erythroblast:
    • smaller cell and nucleus
    • increasing amounts of haemoglobin, eosinophilic in nature, result in dual staining
  • normoblast:
    • small nucleus
    • large amounts of eosinophilic cytoplasm due to haemoglobin
  • reticulocyte:
    • nucleus is extruded
    • passes into blood to mature into final erythrocyte

Differentiation accompanies up to 4 mitotic divisions yielding up to 16 erythrocytes for each stem cell.

Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Annotations allow you to add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation. E.g. a website or number. This information will always show when you visit this page.