This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Go to /pro/cpd-dashboard page

This page is worth 0.05 CPD credits. CPD dashboard

Go to /account/subscription-details page

This page is worth 0.05 CPD credits. Upgrade to Pro

Weber classification

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

The Weber system describes three types of ankle fracture. Danis and Weber based their classification on the involvement of the fibula, which they regarded as being the key to ankle stabilty:

  • type A - the fibula is fractured below the tibio-fibular syndesmosis, as a result of abduction or adduction. The medial malleolus may be fractured or the deltoid ligament torn; however these fractures are stable after reduction.

  • type B - fractures result from external rotation, and are oblique fractures running upwards from the joint line. The syndesmosis is intact and the mortise not disturbed. The medial structures usually are disturbed.

  • type C - unstable fractures above the syndesmosis resulting from abduction alone or from abduction with external rotation. The syndesmosis ruptures (as may the interosseous membrane), the fibula may become tilted and the mortise widened.

Create an account to add page annotations

Annotations allow you to add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation. E.g. a website or number. This information will always show when you visit this page.