This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages without signing in

Adaptive immunity

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

  • possess a high degree of specificity and evoke a more potent response on secondary exposure to the pathogen
  • adaptive immune system frequently incorporates cells and molecules of the innate system in its fight against harmful pathogens
    • for example, complement (molecules of the innate system) may be activated by antibodies (molecules of the adaptive system)
  • adaptive immune system comprises two main types of leucocyte known as B and T lymphocytes
  • the lymphoid organs are classified as
    • primary lymphoid organs
      • bone marrow
    • secondary lymphoid organs
      • lymph nodes
      • MALT - mucosa associated lymphoid tissue e.g. bronchus, gut, nasal tissues
      • spleen
  • T lymphocytes mature in the thymus
    • premature T cells undergo a process of positive and negative selection whereby the former are allowed to progress to maturity whilst the latter are marked for termination via apoptosis (programmed cell death)

Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Annotations allow you to add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation. E.g. a website or number. This information will always show when you visit this page.