types of uveitis

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 more open access pages.

The Systematic Uveitis Nomenclature (SUN) working group classifies uveitis according to anatomical location of the inflammation:

  • anterior uveitis:
    • commonest sub type
    • there is inflammation of the anterior chamber
    • otherwise known as:
      • iritis
      • iridocyclitis
  • intermediate uveitis:
    • the vitreous is inflamed

  • posterior uveitis:
    • inflammation of the retina or choroid
    • otherwise known as:
      • choroiditis
      • when the retina is secondarily affected, chorioretinitis
  • panuveitis:
    • inflammation of the anterior chamber, vitreous, retina and choroid (1)


  1. International Uveitis Study Group (IUSG). What is uveitis?

Last reviewed 01/2018