Last reviewed 01/2018

The following types of strokes and stroke-like syndromes are defined according to the severity of symptoms:

  • transient ischaemic attack
  • completed stroke:
    • minor (reversible ischaemic neurological deficit) - symptoms last longer than 24 hours and less than seven days
    • major - last longer than 7 days
  • evolving stroke - stroke in evolution