This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in


Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

There have been many classifications of heart failure. Most have not proven therapeutically useful.

  • the classification of heart failure according to whether the right or left ventricle is predominantly affected may help with an understanding of clinical symptoms and signs
  • a recent classification, which may impact on treatment, is according to whether the defect in left ventricular function is predominantly systolic or diastolic
  • some authorities use the ejection fraction to classify HF into
  • heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFPEF) or heart failure with a normal ejection fraction (HFNEF). - these patients have heart failure but do not have any evidence of left ventricular systolic dysfunction (LVSD)
  • heart failure with left ventricular systolic dysfunction (LVSD) also commonly called systolic heart failure (SHF) - these patients have reduced left ventricular ejection fraction (1,2)


Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page