This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Classification of abnormal uterine bleeding

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

classification of abnormal uterine bleeding

The International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO) has classified AUB into 9 main categories, which are arranged according to the acronym "PALM-COEIN".

In general the basic classification system has

  • 4 categories which are structural entities that can be measured through imaging techniques and/or histopathology - "Polyp, Adenomyosis, Leiomyoma, Maligancy and hyperplasia" group
  • 4 categories which are non structural entities that are not defined by imaging or histopathology - "Coagulopathy, Ovulatory dysfunction, Endometrial, Iatrogenic" group
  • 1 category reserved for entities that are not yet classified - "Not yet classified"

The presence or absence of each criterion is noted using "0" (if not present), "1" (if present) and "?" (if not yet assessed).


Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page

The content herein is provided for informational purposes and does not replace the need to apply professional clinical judgement when diagnosing or treating any medical condition. A licensed medical practitioner should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions.


Copyright 2024 Oxbridge Solutions Limited, a subsidiary of OmniaMed Communications Limited. All rights reserved. Any distribution or duplication of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited. Oxbridge Solutions receives funding from advertising but maintains editorial independence.