This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Types of nystagmus

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

The two types of nystagmus are:

  • jerk nystagmus:
    • a slow drift of the eyes
    • a rapid corrective movement back to the point of fixation
    • this is the most common form of nystagmus

  • pendular nystagmus:
    • eye movements are sinusoidal, that is both phases of movement have the same velocity
    • the nystagmus is always in one plane, for example horizontal pendular nystagmus remains in the horizontal plane even on upward gaze
    • pendular nystagmus may be converted to jerk nystagmus at the extremems of gaze

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page