This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in


Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

Radiographically and structurally there is no difference between live and dead bone. However, because dead bone lacks a blood supply, it does not undergo renewal, and after repeated stress it collapses.

Changes occur in four concurrent stages

Stage I : marrow necrosis and cell death occurs within 24 hours of infarction. However there may be no change in macroscopic appearance for weeks or even months.

Stage II : After some days or weeks the living bone surrounding the area of dead bone shows a vascular reaction, and new bone is laid down upon the trabeculae of dead bone. There is an increase in bone density that is visible on x-ray. The newly deposited bone has been laid on a fragile structure and, despite the increased bone mass, small fractures start to appear at the site of osteonecrosis.

Stage III : degeneration of bone architecture becomes more gross and the outline of the bone becomes distorted.

Stage IV : Articular destruction occurs as a result of severe distortion of the bone surface.

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page

The content herein is provided for informational purposes and does not replace the need to apply professional clinical judgement when diagnosing or treating any medical condition. A licensed medical practitioner should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions.


Copyright 2024 Oxbridge Solutions Limited, a subsidiary of OmniaMed Communications Limited. All rights reserved. Any distribution or duplication of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited. Oxbridge Solutions receives funding from advertising but maintains editorial independence.