This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

ICD 10 depression diagnostic criteria

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

Diagnostic criteria for depression ICD-10 uses an agreed list of ten depressive symptoms

Key symptoms:

  • persistent sadness or low mood;and/or
  • loss of interests or pleasure
  • fatigue or low energy
  • at least one of these, most days, most of the time for at least 2 weeks
  • if any of above present, ask about associated symptoms:
    • disturbed sleep
    • poor concentration or indecisiveness
    • low self-confidence
    • poor or increased appetite
    • suicidal thoughts or acts
    • agitation or slowing of movements
    • guilt or self-blame
  • the 10 symptoms then define the degree of depression and management is based on the particular degree
    • not depressed (fewer than four symptoms)
    • mild depression (four symptoms)
    • moderate depression (five to six symptoms)
    • severe depression (seven or more symptoms, with or without psychotic symptoms)
    • symptoms should be present for a month or more and every symptom should be present for most of every day


Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page