This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Hypersensitivity reactions

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

The original classification by Gell and Coombs is still very useful today. They classified hypersensitivity reactions as four different types.

  • Type I - IgE mediated; immediate hypersensitivity reaction.

  • Type II - hypersensitivity reaction takes place intravascularly.

  • Type III - immune complex mediated.

  • Type IV - in this form of hypersensitivity the immune response is mediated by the action of the lymphocytes rather than by antibody.

Since this classification however, two further reactions Type V and Type VI have been described.

Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page