thoracic cavity (anatomy)

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 more open access pages.

The thoracic cavity can be divided into:

  • 2 pleural cavities; contain the lungs within the pleural cavity
  • the mediastinum; intervenes between the two thoracic cavities and contains vital structures e.g.:
    • heart
    • great vessels
    • trachea
    • oesophagus
    • thymus
    • nerves e.g. phrenic, vagus

Last reviewed 01/2018