classification of stage of ovarian cancer

Last reviewed 01/2018

  • Stage I - growth limited to the ovaries
    • A - one ovary, no ascites, capsule intact
    • B - both ovaries, no ascites, capsule intact
    • C - capsule ruptured, capsular involvement, positive peritoneal washings, or malignant ascites

  • Stage II- ovarian growth with pelvic extension
    • A - extension to uterus or tubes
    • B - to other pelvic organs, e.g. bladder, rectum
    • C - extension plus findings as for IC

  • Stage III-tumour outside the pelvis or with positive nodes
    • A - microscopic seeding outside true pelvis
    • B - gross deposits less than or equal to 2 cm
    • C - gross deposits greater than 2 cm or positive nodes

Stage IV- distant organ involvement including pleural space and liver parenchyma