This site is intended for healthcare professionals
Login | Register (NOW FREE)

Medical search

hypersensitivity reactions

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 open access pages.

The original classification by Gell and Coombs is still very useful today. They classified hypersensitivity reactions as four different types.

  • Type I - IgE mediated; immediate hypersensitivity reaction.

  • Type II - hypersensitivity reaction takes place intravascularly.

  • Type III - immune complex mediated.

  • Type IV - in this form of hypersensitivity the immune response is mediated by the action of the lymphocytes rather than by antibody.

Since this classification however, two further reactions Type V and Type VI have been described.


The information provided herein should not be used for diagnosis or treatment of any medical condition. A licensed medical practitioner should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions. Copyright 2016 Oxbridge Solutions LtdĀ®. Any distribution or duplication of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited. Oxbridge Solutions LtdĀ® receives funding from advertising but maintains editorial independence. GPnotebook stores small data files on your computer called cookies so that we can recognise you and provide you with the best service. If you do not want to receive cookies please do not use GPnotebook.