vestibule & vestibular bulbs

Last reviewed 01/2018

The vestibule is bounded:

  • anteriorly and laterally by the labia minora
  • posteriorly by the fourchette

Three structures open into the vestibule:

  • urethra
  • vagina
  • Bartholin's glands

The vestibular bulbs are found at either side of the entrance to the vagina. They are composed of erectile tissue and are covered by the bulbospongiosus muscles.