This site is intended for healthcare professionals
Login | Register (NOW FREE)

Medical search

Denis classification of spinal fractures

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 open access pages.

Denis divided the spine into three columns - anterior, middle and posterior. If two or more of these columns are damaged then the spine is unstable.

  • the anterior column comprises the anterior longitudunal ligament and the anterior half of the vertebral body.

  • the middle column comprises the posterior half of the vertebral body and the posterior longitudunal ligament.

  • the posterior column comprises the pedicles, the facet joints and the supraspinous ligaments.

In adition to proposing the 'three column spine' Denis also defined four types of spinal fractures;

  • wedge fracture - stable
  • burst fracture - stable
  • seat belt fracture (and 'Chance fracture') - unstable
  • fracture dislocation - unstable


The information provided herein should not be used for diagnosis or treatment of any medical condition. A licensed medical practitioner should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions. Copyright 2016 Oxbridge Solutions LtdĀ®. Any distribution or duplication of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited. Oxbridge Solutions LtdĀ® receives funding from advertising but maintains editorial independence. GPnotebook stores small data files on your computer called cookies so that we can recognise you and provide you with the best service. If you do not want to receive cookies please do not use GPnotebook.