This site is intended for healthcare professionals
Login | Register (NOW FREE)

Medical search

ICD-10 depression diagnostic criteria

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 open access pages.

Diagnostic criteria for depression ICD-10 uses an agreed list of ten depressive symptoms

Key symptoms:

        • persistent sadness or low mood;and/or
        • loss of interests or pleasure
        • fatigue or low energy
      • at least one of these, most days, most of the time for at least 2 weeks
    • if any of above present, ask about associated symptoms:
      • disturbed sleep
      • poor concentration or indecisiveness
      • low self-confidence
      • poor or increased appetite
      • suicidal thoughts or acts
      • agitation or slowing of movements
      • guilt or self-blame
  • the 10 symptoms then define the degree of depression and management is based on the particular degree
    • not depressed (fewer than four symptoms)
    • mild depression (four symptoms)
    • moderate depression (five to six symptoms)
    • severe depression (seven or more symptoms, with or without psychotic symptoms)
    • symptoms should be present for a month or more and every symptom should be present for most of every day


Last reviewed 01/2018


The information provided herein should not be used for diagnosis or treatment of any medical condition. A licensed medical practitioner should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions. Copyright 2016 Oxbridge Solutions LtdĀ®. Any distribution or duplication of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited. Oxbridge Solutions LtdĀ® receives funding from advertising but maintains editorial independence. GPnotebook stores small data files on your computer called cookies so that we can recognise you and provide you with the best service. If you do not want to receive cookies please do not use GPnotebook.