severity scales

FREE subscriptions for doctors and students... click here
You have 3 more open access pages.

Currently three different methods are used to asses the severity of RLS symptoms. The International Restless Legs Syndrome Study Group (IRLSSG) severity Scale is considered to be the gold standard method in evaluating the severity of RLS and response to treatment (1,2)

  • consists of 10 questions, each graded from 0-4. The total score for all 10 questions can be used to grade the severity
    • mild: 1-10
    • moderate: 11-20
    • severe: 21-30
    • very severe: 31-40 (2).


Last reviewed 01/2018