Killip classification of heart failure

Last reviewed 12/2020

A categorisation of the severity of heart failure based on easily obtained clinical signs.

The main clinical features are:

  • Class I: no heart failure

  • Class II: crackles audible half way up the chest

  • Class III: crackles heard in all the lung fields

  • Class IV: cardiogenic shock.