This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in

Notifiable diseases

Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

The following diseases are notifiable (to Local Authority Proper Officers) under the Health Protection (Notification) Regulations 2010:

  • acute encephalitis
  • acute meningitis
  • acute poliomyelitis
  • acute infectious hepatitis
  • anthrax
  • botulism
  • brucellosis
  • cholera
  • diphtheria
  • enteric fever (typhoid or paratyphoid fever)
  • food poisoning
  • haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS)
  • infectious bloody diarrhoea
  • invasive group A streptococcal disease and scarlet fever
  • legionnaires’ Disease
  • leprosy
  • malaria
  • measles
  • meningococcal septicaemia
  • mumps
  • plague
  • rabies
  • rubella
  • SARS
  • smallpox
  • tetanus
  • tuberculosis
  • typhus
  • viral haemorrhagic fever (VHF)
  • whooping cough
  • yellow fever

As of April 2010, it is no longer a requirement to notify the following diseases

  • dysentery
  • ophthalmia neonatorum
  • leptospirosis
  • relapsing fever


Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page