This site is intended for healthcare professionals

Go to /sign-in page

You can view 5 more pages before signing in


Last reviewed dd mmm yyyy. Last edited dd mmm yyyy

Authoring team

Oesopahgeal tumours are classified into

  • epithelial tumours - include papilloma, intraepithelial neoplasia, carcinoma and carcinoid tumours
  • non epithelial tumours - leiomyoma, lipoma, gastrointestinal (1)

Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) is the predominant histological subtype and is mainly found in the upper two thirds of the oesophagus.

  • is thought to develop from squamous dysplasia/intraepithelial neoplasia.
    • dysplastic squamous epithelium is characterised by cytologic and architectural abnormalities
    • these lesions are usually confined to the epithelium
  • invasion of these neoplastic squamous cells into lamina propria and deeper layers results in invasive oesophageal SCC (2,3)

Adenocarcinoma usually arises in a region of specialised columnar epithelium (SCE) metaplasia in the lower third of the oesophagus.

  • there is glandular differentiation that arises in the setting of Barrett’s oesophagus (BE)
  • rarely may arise from heterotrophic gastric tissue or the submucosal glands with a similar morphology to Barrett’s associated tumours (2,3)

Dissemination of the tumour may occur in three ways:

  • direct spread - occurs both laterally, through the component layers of the oesophageal wall, and longitudinally within the oesophageal wall
  • via lymphatics - occurs commonly
  • haematogenous spread - spread may involve a variety of different organs including the liver, lungs, brain and bones (3)


Related pages

Create an account to add page annotations

Add information to this page that would be handy to have on hand during a consultation, such as a web address or phone number. This information will always be displayed when you visit this page